The Pastor\’s Pen

An Independent Baptist Preacher\’s Musings and Observations

Ear and Eye Choices

Posted by Pastor Szekely on September 28, 2008

Can we LISTEN to and WATCH anything we want…AND if we can: How does this affect our lives?

YES – we “can” listen to or watch what we “want”. Even as a child of God, we still have the ability to make choices. Paul had that ability…and as a Christian, some of Paul’s choices weren’t very good ones! He tells us in Rom 7:15, “For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I.”

When we say we can listen to or watch “anything we want“, that speaks of and sounds like it’s all up to us, that God has given no direction in these matters, and that we are “our own”…and some others might say rebellion.

SO: How can we answer the question, “Can we listen to and watch anything we want“? To find the answer, let’s look at it in THREE WAYS: 

I. WHAT IS OUR ATTITUDE?

What’s your attitude on what you bring into the “eye-gate” and the “ear-gate”? What we view and what we hear can be broken down into 2 categories: Things of God, which are ALWAYS GOOD, and Things of the World, which are NOT ALWAYS BAD. Yes, you’re “reading it right“! You’ve just read that an Independent Baptist preacher said there are things of this world that are not always bad! For example: Do guns kill people? NO – People kill people! SO THEN: What does a television do to people? NOTHING! [Now just follow along with me] TVs, computers, radios, monitors – they’re all inanimate objects! These all LACK the QUALITIES of a living thing!

When we come home, our TV doesn’t automatically turn on, it doesn’t ask me how my day went, nor it doesn’t even take out the dogs or trash (YET!!!)…because it’s inanimate! AH…BUT the question is: What is our ATTITUDE toward these inanimate objects?

We will say that the TV is brainwashing us and our kids. We will say that the internet is just as bad, if not worse than, Hollywood. We will call these THINGS “time-wasters“…and they are…IF YOU LET THEM BE! These things will corrupt you and your children…IF YOU LET THEM! Please, let’s stop displacing the blame! Is it the TV’s fault or the internet’s fault for corruption in your home? Don’t they come with an OFF button? Who’s in control here? You’re allowing these inanimate objects to control you when you have the ability to make godly choices!

II. WHAT IS THE AFFECT?

What’s the affect of what we listen to and watch? What’s the affect of what comes through the eye and ear gates? There must be a profound and lasting affect on us, because Paul said in 1 Cor 6:12, “…all things are lawful for me, but I will not be brought under the power of any“. Paul’s saying that he could become a SLAVE unto what would come through his eye and ear gates!

Now here’s something that needs to be asked: “Will what I see and listen to make me it’s SLAVE?” Something that has an AFFECT on us will battle for our AFFECTION! How can we become a slave to inanimate objects and the things we hear and see? When we lose our control

We become enslaved when we’re brought under the power and influence of something else! Here’s a great exercise to determine if we’re under the influence of what we watch or listen to…can you say, “Thank you, Lord, for what I’m watching or for what I’m listening to…and I give you the glory for it“.

III. WHAT KIND OF ATTACHMENT IS THERE?

Do you agree we develop an attachment to things that affect us? We do, and I would say that it does matter what affects us because there’s a great chance of attachment to them.

What do you like to watch and what do you like to listen to? What’s your attitude with it? What affect do those things have on you? What kind of attachment is there?

HONESTLY ANSWER THOSE QUESTIONS AND YOU’LL KNOW WHAT KIND OF EAR AND EYE CHOICE YOU’RE MAKING!

13 Responses to “Ear and Eye Choices”

  1. Sis. Julie said

    Amen!! I love this post!! There is bad in and with most everything…it just depends what we do with it and how we use it. Such as the tv and the computer. They are just monitors of sorts…it just depends on what we allow to come through them. I’ve heard preachers preach that if you have a tv or computer in your home…you aren’t saved. HOGWASH!! I’ve also heard it preached that if a woman wears breeches…she is lost. I’m sorry…but I know several that wear them that I have no doubt that they are born-again. I didn’t even wear dresses all the time when I first got saved. It had to be learned and I had to be taught. God help us to be careful about how we deal with things!!

    Good post Brother!!

  2. Thank you for commenting, Sis!

    I love what you’ve said:

    1] “I’ve heard preachers preach that if you have a tv or computer in your home…you aren’t saved. HOGWASH!!”

    –It IS hogwash!!! How can men preach even preach that???

    2] “I’ve also heard it preached that if a woman wears breeches…she is lost. I’m sorry…but I know several that wear them that I have no doubt that they are born-again. I didn’t even wear dresses all the time when I first got saved. It had to be learned and I had to be taught. God help us to be careful about how we deal with things!!”

    –AMEN AND AMEN!!! Some have really gone off the deep end, haven’t they! You’re so right – we do need to be careful about how we deal with things. That’s not compromise – that’s letting and giving God time to work in our life and in the lives of others.

    You’re an encouragment to me, Sis Julie!!! Keep on keepin’ on!!!

    Lord bless!

  3. iowabaptist said

    Hello Brother,
    If we think about it, it’s kind of like the liberal idea that guns are evil so we need to get rid of them. Guns don’t kill people, people kill people. A TV is a good tool if used properly. HEY, are you attending the High Plains Baptist Men’s Retreat next week? I am looking forward to hearing Sam Davison and Bruce Turner preach. Have a good day sir!

  4. G’day my brother…Thanks for commenting!

    I can’t be there next week 😦 I’m sure there’s going to be some great preaching going on…

    Let me know how it goes!

    Thanks, my brother – Lord bless!

  5. Michael said

    I preached along these lines just last night. Skip over a few chapters from 1 Corinthians 6 to 1 Corinthians 10:23

    “…all things are lawful for me, but all things edify not.” (KJV just for you)

    I spent my sermon in Philippians 4:8. Applying that passage as a two-way filter for the mind. Two-way as in what proceeds out of us into action as well as what influences we allow to come into the mind and heart from our surrounding culture. Ask these questions…

    Is this show “true” to God’s word?
    Is this show “honest” in its message?
    Is this show “just” in its story?
    Is this show “pure” in its assumptions and conclusions?
    Is this show “lovely” to God’s eyes and ears?
    Is this show “of good report” according to other brothers and sisters who have watched it before?
    Is this show “virtuous” in its lessons taught?
    Is this show worthy fo our “praise”?

    It doesn’t have to be blatantly Christian, but would you watch it with Jesus seated next to you on the couch?

  6. iowabaptist said

    Great post again my Brother. Hey, check out this new blog at http://thebaptistheritage.wordpress.com/
    Thanks
    The Iowabaptist

  7. Great conversation here. Isn’t it funny that most people have their living room centered around the television set. You want to know our relationship to the TV! Great topic. We allow so much filth into our lives under the guise of entertainment. I have people at work say to me, “Aww! Come one. It might be pretty vulgar but it’s really funny! You should watch it!” No thank you!

  8. JTR said

    http://ifbkjv.blogspot.com/ Hi, I looked for an email addy an couldn’t see one, sorry to add this here in comments. I just started a KJV IFB Blog Directory and was wondering if your be interested either adding your link there or contributing articles?

  9. Sis. Julie said

    Just checking in to see if all is well your way. You haven’t posted in a while and I wanted you to know I’ve missed your posts. I’m praying for you and your family!!

  10. Hey, are you still breathing? Kinda missing you these days! drop me a post personal if you get a moment.

    frozenpreacher

  11. ngbiblog said

    It’s very true that what goes in our eyes and ears tends to seep back out and show it’s true effect. Jesus said,

    Luke 11:34 The light of the body is the eye: therefore when thine eye is single, thy whole body also is full of light; but when thine eye is evil, thy body also is full of darkness.

    Luke 11:35 Take heed therefore that the light which is in thee be not darkness.

    When we put evil material into our bodies through our eyes, we become evil as a whole! We must be careful what we watch and hear!!!!

    Your blog is very good Pastor! This is my first time here and I am pleased to find so many like-minded folks! I too have a IFB KJV blog. Please visit us sometime. The url is ngbiblog.com

  12. David Knight said

    Thank you so much for this wonderful website. I especially appreciate the section about Baptist History. I’m 60 years old, and I’ve yet to hear one Pastorn do any serious teaching about our Baptist heritage. My wife Sharon and I live in Chattanooga, TN. God bless you Pastor.
    David Knight
    3717 7th Avenue
    Chattanooga, TN 37407
    423-867-5329

  13. ตุ๊กตาปั้น,ปั้นรูปเหมือน,ของขวัญ,ของที่ระลึก,ของชำร่วย,ตุ๊กตาเรซิ่น…

    […]Ear and Eye Choices « The Pastor’s Pen[…]…

Leave a comment