The Pastor\’s Pen

An Independent Baptist Preacher\’s Musings and Observations

Revival

Posted by Pastor Szekely on September 19, 2008

WHAT IS IT? DO WE NEED IT? HOW CAN WE GET IT?

How would YOU answer these questions? I think before we can understand what revival IS, we must understand what revival IS NOT. Revival is not a series of evangelistic meetings. Revival is not an emotional experience that’s soon forgotten. Revival is not a popular fad or wave of change that comes and goes. None of this is revival. So what is it?

Revival defined by Webster is a restoration from a depressed, inactive, or unused state; the restoring of force or validity. With me personally, I’d like to think of revival as a rekindling of God’s fire in my heart. I’d like to think that when my heart doesn’t burn brightly for God as it once did and I catch myself just going through the motions and viewing my service more as duty than dedication and devotion, then I am primed for a personal revival. This is how I know I need revival. And to be honest with you, my reader, as I write this, I humbly confess that I need a personal revival…how about you? If you don’t, please pray for me; and if you are in need of a personal revival, let me know and I promise to pray for you.

How can we get revival? It can only come from God, and I believe God will only give us a true revival when we are truly determined to get it from God! 2 Chron 7:14, a very familiar but [I believe] applicable verse for our answer of “how can we get it“, “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” Did you notice God said, “IF…THEN”. God is a God of conditions. God WILL hear from Heaven, God WILL forgive sin, and God WILL heal the land IF God’s people humble themselves, pray, seek His face, and turn from their wickedness. God will take you and me from a depressed, inactive and “just going through the motions” state and restore us – revive us – IF we would humble ourselves, pray, seek His face, and turn from our wicked ways. How bad do YOU want revival?

How do you know you’ve had revival from the Lord? Let me just briefly touch on 3 ways:

#1: WHEN YOU HAVE A NEW ATTITUDE

You’re “I” problem must go away. You need to have J.O.Y. again – that’s Jesus, Others, and then You. You must see the lost just like the Lord Jesus sees them – with compassion and as sheep having no shepherd…hopeless without God.

#2: WHEN YOU HAVE A NEW ENTHUSIASM

You won’t “have to” read your Bible and pray…You’ll “want to” read your Bible and pray. You may just start singing those old hymns…in the shower! You’ll look forward to telling others of the Saviour. You just may add “AMEN” and “HALLELUJAH” to your vocabulary…and rejoicing will become a must!

#3: WHEN YOU HAVE A NEW DETERMINATION

How determined are you to serve God? How determined are you to find out and follow what God says? How determined are you to be determined to do right?

IS REVIVAL NEEDED AMONG THE CHILDREN OF GOD? Many today who claim the Name of the Lord Jesus Christ have become complacent, volatile, inflammatory, lethargic, self-righteous, apathetic, self-centered, and accusatory. Many have become outright sinful and couldn’t care less about it!  Nuff said.

Ps 85:6, “Wilt thou [LORD] not revive us again: that thy people may rejoice in thee?”

9 Responses to “Revival”

  1. samrosemin said

    Those words are from God, brother. Revival is the becoming of a “new man” in Christ.
    By the way, have you heard of the striking paralelism existing between 9/11 terrorists acts and the 9-11 verses in the Bible? http://www.911andthebible.com

  2. Kate said

    Excellent!!! 🙂 Sorry I haven’t been on much. We’re up to our eye balls in boxes and packing 🙂 Once the movers come next Wednesday, we’ll be able to rest!!! God bless!!!

  3. Thanks for clicking in, Kate!

    I knew the time was coming for your move…Lord bless you, sis, in your preparation and time of transition. It is always stressful, so please “breathe in through your nose and out through your mouth” 🙂 and may our God give you a sweet peace and strength during this time.

    Keep on keepin’ on ~ Lord bless!

  4. Jo Sock said

    WoW! I was convicted reading about revival. I personally need it! Thank you for the good encouragement. Just thought I’d come back to this site and see once again what is here. How are you and your family doing?

    Wife of missionary in Poland

  5. G’day Jo!

    Thank you so much for clicking back! BTW: I did get your question on my survey, and I’ll respond to it and you personally via email.

    I will pray for you about revival. Sis, I coming to believe more and more as I read on revival and pray that it is a very great need in many of us. I’m truly thankful you’ve been encouraged by the post, and I want you to know that I’m encouraged by you. I haven’t forgotten about you and your husband in Poland, and I do pray for you and think of you both often.

    My family and I are getting along…my 16-yr old son is recovering from an operation on his torn ACL in his right knee, and I just found out I have torn my rotator cuff in my right shoulder. I did it playing in a softball league this year – Jo, I’ll be 42 in October and I’m falling apart! I’m not ready to slow down, but operations to fix things do get expensive!

    But beside all that, we’re gettin’ along. Me personally, I’m praying for revival with me. When the Lord brings me to your mind, would you pray for me? I’d sure appreciate it.

    It’s great hearing from you, Jo ~ Lord bless!

  6. Jo Sock said

    Praying for ya!!

  7. Thank you, sis!

    Lord bless.

  8. F*ckin’ tremendous things here. I am very satisfied to see your article. Thank you so much and i’m looking forward to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  9. Hello I want to to share a new remark on this page regarding you to be able to tell you just how much i Enjoyed this read. I have to run off to work but wanted to leave ya a quick comment. I book-marked you So will be back after work in order to go through more of yer quality posts. Keep up the quality work.

Leave a Reply

 
