The Pastor\’s Pen

An Independent Baptist Preacher\’s Musings and Observations

The Cost of Service

Posted by Pastor Szekely on April 29, 2008

Count the Cost

“And Araunah looked, and saw the king and his servants coming on toward him: and Araunah went out, and bowed himself before the king on his face upon the ground. And Araunah said, Wherefore is my lord the king come to his servant? And David said, To buy the threshingfloor of thee, to build an altar unto the LORD, that the plague may be stayed from the people. And Araunah said unto David, Let my lord the king take and offer up what seemeth good unto him: behold, here be oxen for burnt sacrifice, and threshing instruments and other instruments of the oxen for wood. All these things did Araunah, as a king, give unto the king. And Araunah said unto the king, The LORD thy God accept thee. And the king said unto Araunah, Nay; but I will surely buy it of thee at a price: neither will I offer burnt offerings unto the LORD my God of that which doth cost me nothing. So David bought the threshingfloor and the oxen for fifty shekels of silver. And David built there an altar unto the LORD, and offered burnt offerings and peace offerings. So the LORD was intreated for the land, and the plague was stayed from Israel.” 2 Samuel 24:20-25

Araunah the Jebusite offered his threshing floor to King David, along with his oxen and threshing instruments, so that David would be able to offer up a burnt sacrifice to God. It was to be an incredible gift! It seemed like a very charitable gesture of love and honor, but it was not accepted. What was King David thinking? Was he not grateful for the huge blessing? No, it wasn’t any of this…David made it very plain: “Nay; but I will surely buy it of thee at a price: neither will I offer burnt offerings unto the LORD my God of that which doth cost me nothing.”

Someone once said, “He who has a religion that costs him nothing, has a religion that is worth nothing“. It cost David something to serve God. Just think – If Araunah’s noble offer had been accepted, it would have been Araunah’s sacrifice, and not David’s. It cost David something to serve God.

What has it cost YOU, or what is it costing YOU, to serve God? There are many today who want to try and serve the Lord in the cheapest manner possible…with as little cost to themselves as possible. But with service comes sacrifice. Oh how we need in our day more disciples with the heart and attitude of David!

The Lord Jesus Christ said in Luke 14:27-30, “And whosoever doth not bear his cross, and come after me, cannot be my disciple. For which of you, intending to build a tower, sitteth not down first, and counteth the cost, whether he have sufficient to finish it? Lest haply, after he hath laid the foundation, and is not able to finish it, all that behold it begin to mock him, Saying, This man began to build, and was not able to finish.” The Lord Jesus was communicating that anyone who “comes after Him” needed to consider the cost of following Him…it might cost reputation, possessions, money, relationships, and just maybe their own life itself.

Has your service for God cost you? Have you counted the cost? If you have, please be encouraged to know that it is worth it all! Put on the attitude of David which is also the attitude of the Lord Jesus – His service cost Him everything!

Why then would His disciples serve without cost?

Count the cost, then gladly pay!

5 Responses to “The Cost of Service”

  1. Courtney said

    You sound just like my dear hubby! I don’t think there are too many days that go by that he doesn’t exhort our children to count the cost. This is such an important component of deciding to be a follower of Christ. I knew the cost would be high in my situation, but I had this overwhelming love in my heart for the Lord that I really didn’t even feel like I had a choice. I was compelled to follow Him out of absolute adoration for who He is.

    On the flip side of that, there have been times that the choice has been so painful, I have to admit to having had thoughts of turning my back on Him. That is a shameful thing to admit, but in those times, I always think of Philippians 2:5-8. Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus: (6) Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God: (7) But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: (8) And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross.

    All that it cost Him to pay for my sin! How can I not give up all that I have to follow Him?

    Awesome post!

  2. Courtney said

    I did not insert that smiley. The auto emoticon did that.

  3. To be told that I sound like your dear husband is a real compliment, Courtney! He’s a good man 🙂 [smiley intentionally added…I’ve found out about the “auto-emoticon” like that myself!]

    Thank you for your comments. There have been many times that reflection on what great works the Lord Jesus Christ has done had really put some things in perspective for me. Our God is Wonderful and Amazing!!!

    Thanks for clicking in on this one, and Lord bless you, sis!

  4. Hey Brother!

    Can I have permission to use this in my bulletin on Sunday? I will also post on the web with a link back.

    Charles Hollingsworth

  5. G’day my brother!

    Go right ahead – It would be a blessing to me!

    Thanks for using it – Lord bless!

Leave a Reply

 
