The Pastor\’s Pen

An Independent Baptist Preacher\’s Musings and Observations

The Value of God’s Word

Posted by Pastor Szekely on March 19, 2008

Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.” Proverbs 4:7

It is the Lord who gives Wisdom – “For the LORD giveth wisdom: out of his mouth cometh knowledge and understanding” Proverbs 2:6. SO: If we’re going to acquire Wisdom from God, we must: Be RECEPTIVE to God’s Word, be RESPONSIVE to God’s Word, and be RESOLUTE with God’s Word! BUT…

Do we understand just how important God’s Word is to us? Do we really understand the VALUE OF GOD’S WORD?

Is the Word of God dear to you? How do you cherish the Word of God? How do you treasure the very Words from the Heart and Lips of God? How do you show the Bible’s value in your life?

King Solomon wanted to make sure his children knew the value of God’s Word. In Proverbs 3:1-4, the king wanted to train his children to solidly answer the questions I’ve posed to you. Solomon writes:

“(vs1) My son, forget not my law; but let thine heart keep my commandments: (vs2) For length of days, and long life, and peace, shall they add to thee. (vs3) Let not mercy and truth forsake thee: bind them about thy neck; write them upon the table of thine heart: (vs4) So shalt thou find favour and good understanding in the sight of God and man.”

I. We first find an ADMONITION in verse 1

Solomon admonishes his son to not forget his ruling, guiding principles that he has set forth…But what also does this admonition do? This admonition found in vs1 brings the head and the heart together!

–“My son, forget not my law”: If we will have God’s Wisdom, God’s Word must be in our head! We need to memorize God’s Word…it is truly vitally important in the pursuit of Wisdom from God…but it’s not enough!

Solomon goes on to say: “but let thine heart keep my commandments”. There’s a real danger if all we do is simply store God’s Word in our head, but we don’t have it sink into our heart! How do we value God’s Word?

Is it something we hold to…like an opinion (head-knowledge)! OR is it something that holds us…like a conviction (heart-knowledge)!

You and I both know that God’s Word can be pushed from our minds due to various things: the rush of life / peer pressures / temptations / distractions…BUT: when God’s Word is in our heart – it will always hold center-stage! Solomon’s admonishment to his children ought to caution us to value God’s Word with our heads AND with our hearts!

Solomon then continues on in verse two with an:

II. ASSURANCE (vs2)

Solomon tells his children that if they obey and follow the word of their father, they can be kept from things in life that would be detrimental to their days! Now we know that there are many factors involved in a person’s life and health…but the assurance is this: There’s a better opportunity for length of days, long life, and peace to be added to you if you follow what God says, rather than if you do not. THE VALUE OF GOD’S WORD!

Next, Solomon gives an:

III. APPEAL (vs3)

There’s an appeal to us here that as we value God’s Word, we should have it written on the table of our heart AND have it bound about our neck…Have you ever noticed how many times God references our neck in His Word? I think it’s pretty interesting:  

A stiff neck = representation of pride & rebellion (Acts 7:51) / a submissive neck = represents bowing to and respecting authority…

God’s Word written on the table of a soft heart and bound around a submissive neck is valued as AUTHORITY! We have an appeal from Solomon for God’s Word to be valued as THE AUTHORITY in our lives! “Not just the final rule…but the ONLY rule of faith and practice!”

Next, Solomon gives us more to showing the Bible’s value in our life with an:

IV. ANNOUNCEMENT (vs4)

Not only will we be found pleasant and find grace in God’s sight, but we will also be a blessing unto mankind! Oh how important and valuable is God’s Word!

SO: Can we see just how important God’s Word is to us? Solomon wanted to make sure his children knew the value of God’s Word…do we?

HOW DO YOU SHOW THE BIBLE’S VALUE IN YOUR LIFE?

4 Responses to “The Value of God’s Word”

  1. Jude3KJB said

    The Bible is my BOOK! I could not live without it.

  2. Bro. Szekely said

    AMEN! Praise God!

    Where would we be without the Wonderful Word of God…may we be students of the BOOK!!!

    Thanks for your comments, brother!

  3. Courtney said

    I guess the best way to show the Bible’s value in my life is by spending time reading and studying it. After that, it should affect how I live my life. I had a Sunday school teacher when I was 15 that profoundly affected the way I viewed scripture. She challenged my music choices and encouraged me to see what God had to say about it. I took the challenge and aside from dramatically changing the music I listened to, it had the benefit of showing me the value of God’s Word. I didn’t just see what it said, it changed my life. I will be ever in debt to a godly woman who taught me the value of His Word.

  4. Bro. Szekely said

    What a great testimony, Courtney…I pray all of us would show the Bible’s value by spending time reading it, studying it, meditating upon it, and memorizing it.

    And I too praise God for that Sunday School teacher of yours. It’s amazing how our Lord works through others to bless us and to build us.

    Thank you for your comments, Courtney…you’ve been a blessing to me once again.

    Keep on keepin’ on, my sister!

Leave a Reply

 
