The Pastor\’s Pen

An Independent Baptist Preacher\’s Musings and Observations

What Would You Do?

Posted by Pastor Szekely on December 13, 2007

I came across this through a friend…The first time I watched it I thought it pretty intense, but… Are You Ready? Sobering question…sobering video.

9 Responses to “What Would You Do?”

  1. Bro Mike, this certainly was thoughtproking! Not being faced with dying, but something else that ran through my mind while watching it.

    I had a lot of fear of dying before I got saved – but truly I have had none whatsoever since coming to know the Lord as my Saviour – I know where I am going, though I may not look forward to how I get there.

    What ran through my mind was that it would be easy to say I would die for the Lord – even when faced with being killed for that declaration, but shame came when I thought, what if I was asked, “Why won’t you live for Him then?” How many times have I taken my eyes off of the Lord and done my own thing, gone my own way? That’s where the fear came from – having to give account for my life, whether to the Lord or to a sincere observer that was wondering why my life didn’t line up at times.

    Thank you for posting this. I might tackle the basic scenario at the Mission for a devotion.

  2. Bro. Szekely said

    Great point, Bro. Jerry…

    Since I watched and posted this video, I’ve been thinking on being in this situation and on what I would do. Although I’ve never been confronted in this way, I can honestly say that I too am not afraid of being absent from this body and being present with my Lord. And I want to believe that God would give me special grace for the moment.

    However, you make an outstanding and forceful point. In our walk with Christ, we have many more opportunities to live for Him rather than physically die for Him…”Why won’t I live for Him then?”

    We must live, not only in the Power of His Resurrection, but also in the Promise of His Return. The Rapture will be wonderful, but then comes the Judgment Seat of Christ. An old preacher once said, “Do that which will bring you joy at the Judgment Seat”. I need to be reminded of this daily.

    Thanks for sharpening iron, my brother…Lord bless.

  3. Lee said

    You will only get dying grace when it is needed but it sure would have been a good time to pray! I often think of “What if” scenarios like an armed man entering the Church during services or being faced with a burglar at home or a mugger on the street. I pray that the Lord would give special guidance if any of these things ever happened. This video really makes it real though and causes you to give pause for thoughtful consideration!

  4. Bro. Szekely said

    You’re right, Lee…great comments ~ Thank you ~ Lord bless!

  5. Josh said

    This is really something to think about.

  6. Bro. Szekely said

    Thank you for checking it out and for your comments, Josh…

    I’m looking forward to checking out your blog after I leave my comment.

    Lord bless!

  7. Brother Mike, I just found out this morning that Tags in WordPress take you to other blogs with similar subjects, rather than other articles in your own blog (like the Tags on Blogger do). It looks like “Categories” might be what you want to use instead, and remove the tags (as I am sure you don’t want to link to other religious websites which may or may not be sound). Perhaps you can let any other friends you have on WordPress know this too, especially if they may have come over from Blogger and are assuming the Tags here work the same way. God bless.

  8. Bro. Szekely said

    Thanks for that, Bro. Jerry! I was misunderstanding the use of those tags…I thought if I “tagged” my posts, they’d be found by others just browsing around under that subject…therefore increasing the “hit-potential” of that post. I never thought about it going the other way – clicking on the tag FROM my article…but what you said makes sense.

    Thanks for looking out for me, my brother…I haven’t posted in about a month, but I’m going to be getting into it again real soon.

    Lord bless you, brother – keep on fighting the good fight!

  9. Levi Urbom said

    I tried to watch this video but it said that it was removed by the user.

Leave a Reply

 
