The Pastor\’s Pen

An Independent Baptist Preacher\’s Musings and Observations

Hollywood and Blasphemy

Posted by Pastor Szekely on May 17, 2007

What are we Christians allowing in our homes today? What are we watching? What are we allowing to dull our discernment to Bible truth?

I got the following from  http://www.hollywoodandgod.com/ – Did you know that there was a time when the entertainment industry was bound by a code that forbade them from using any blasphemy in a movie? The “Hays Code” stated: Pointed profanity–this includes the words “God,” “Lord,” “Jesus,” “Christ” (unless used reverently), “Hell,” “S.O.B.,” “damn,” or every other profane or vulgar expression, however used–is forbidden. Hollywood is no longer restricted by the code. Many of today’s movies don’t simply blaspheme the name of Jesus. They go one further. For example, the award-winning Blow, directed by Ted Demme, is a typical R-rated film. The name of Jesus Christ is blasphemed eleven times in the movie. Three of those times, for some reason, the “F” word is used in the middle of His name.

Just think about it…Are you “O.K.” with hearing the Precious Name of our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ, blasphemed? Have you been anesthetized to it and do you respond by saying, “Well, what can I do…it’s society…it’s our culture…” Can’t you shut it off, not rent or buy it, keep it away from you, and honor the Name which is above every name [Phil 2:9]? You need to watch the following:

 

Blasphemy – “A contemptuous or profane act, utterance, or writing concerning God or a sacred entity”

6 Responses to “Hollywood and Blasphemy”

  1. Thank you for posting this video. I like the way they confront people and make them think about their actions. I don’t agree with everything about their ministry, but I love watching the witnessing and seeing someone turn to the Lord. It is such a blessing to witness.

    As far as the movies go, every year I walk with the Lord, I have less and less desire to watch any movies or TV, and when I do there is less and less that I like about them. Even when I watch what is considered a very clean movie or cartoon by other Christians I know, I still find junk in those movies and my conscience is smitten (not for watching a movie, but that movie – I am not against movies as a medium, just don’t see to much worthy movies coming from Hollywood or other mainstream sources).

  2. Bro. Szekely said

    I couldn’t agree with you more, brother, on EVERYTHING you’ve said.

    I too don’t agree with everything about this ministry, but I appreciate their fervency and zeal. Some Independent Baptists may want to take note of it.

    And as far as movies go…I too am not against “a” movie, but you’re definitely right – there’s not much at all coming from the “mainstream sources” that’s worthy of our time and treasure.

    I believe much of what is called “entertainment” has dulled our collective senses to the Truth. I see it when we’re out witnessing and when I preach. It seems as if we’re “competing” with what is being brought in to the eye-gate.

    We can use “movies” for the glory of God…we can use that medium. Unfortunately today, that doesn’t happen many times.

    Take care my brother..thank you for your comments!

  3. Stacy said

    That was a very thought provoking video! Thanks for posting it. Where did you find it? There are a few people I would like to share it with.

  4. Bro. Szekely said

    G’day Stacy!

    Thanks for your comments…I just tried to look around to see where I found the video, but I couldn’t come up with it…

    What you could do is direct them to my blog, OR do a “Google Video Search” by the words “hollywood blasphemy”…I found it there…it was the second one down.

    Lord bless!

  5. Stacy said

    Thanks Pastor! 🙂

  6. Bro. Szekely said

    You’re welcome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
