The Pastor\’s Pen

An Independent Baptist Preacher\’s Musings and Observations

Be on Your Gospel Guard

Posted by Pastor Szekely on August 7, 2006

When the Apostle Paul wrote unto the churches of Galatia, he marveled at the fact that they were “so soon removed from him that called them into the grace of Christ unto another gospel” (Gal 1:6). These congregations of baptized believers were saved and lived in a country conquered and settled by the Gauls (Galatia is derived from the word “Gaul”). The Gauls were pagans, and in their religion it is said that they worshiped “the mother of the gods”, under the name of Agdistis.

But it wasn’t the pagan Gauls that “bewitched” these churches (Gal 3:1), it was the religious Jews who held to keeping the Law for salvation that deceived them. These churches in Galatia were troubled because they were being corrupted into believing that justification before God came by faith AND by the works of the law. But Paul set them straight in Gal 2:16, “Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law, but by the faith of Jesus Christ, even we have believed in Jesus Christ, that we might be justified by the faith of Christ, and not by the works of the law: for by the works of the law shall no flesh be justified”.

There were those that were preaching “another gospel: which is not another” (Gal 1:6-7), and may I say of a truth that this is still going on today. Be on your “Gospel guard” and remember the warning found in 1 John 4:1, “Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world”.

4 Responses to “Be on Your Gospel Guard”

  1. Brother Szekely,

    Check out baptistchristianworldview.com

  2. Bro. Szekely said

    I did, brother…thank you!!!

    Good Stuff ~ Bro. Szekely

  3. As a Baptist Bible believer and literalists, I
    wholly agree with the absolute facts, being
    scriptually accurate in your article. Many are
    being deceive as has been in all ages by another gospel. Great witness! As we are surrounded about by false witnesses in our day
    as in previous ages.
    Thanks, Del

  4. Bro. Szekely said

    Thank you, Bro. Del, for your reply!

    In my “neck of the woods” we have many who have a profession of the Lord Jesus Christ, but in practice it would seem that there’s no possession of the Lord Jesus Christ…

    There’s been no change with many. There’s been no time that many I’ve talked with can point back to a realization that they had a sin debt and were guilty before God. Oh, many say they’ve “accepted” Christ…but for what reason? When I go to the grocery store I know why…because I need groceries! When I go to the refrigerator I know why…because I’m hungry! (Please excuse all the food comments!) And when I turned to the Lord Jesus Christ I also knew why…not because I was “lonely” and needed a friend; not because I had some physical malady; I had a spiritual problem…I was emnity against God! I had a debt of sin that needed to be paid for, and I was convinced that I could not pay it before God myself! I trusted the Lord Jesus to pay my debt! I placed my faith in who He said He was ~ God, the Son; I placed my faith in what He said He could do ~ His Precious Blood would be used to pay my debt and wash all my sins away! Salvation is of the LORD!!! If Jesus is lying, then I’m lost and going to Hell…but He’s not lying…Praise His Holy Name!!!

    Too much “false gospel” today…when people hear that from us, they think we’re “mean & exclusive”. No…Christianity is exclusive ~ there’s only ONE WAY to Heaven ~ but we’re not mean. We’re trying to love people like Christ loves them…we love them enough to tell them the truth. May God help us to tell His Truth, to live His Truth, and to love His Truth!

    G’day, my brother!!!

Leave a Reply

 
