The Pastor\’s Pen

An Independent Baptist Preacher\’s Musings and Observations

Mel Gibson is a Good Example

Posted by Pastor Szekely on August 1, 2006

I’m sure you’ve heard by now of Mel Gibson’s recent exploits…of how he was pulled over and arrested by LA County Sheriffs upon suspicion of DUI…of how during the incident he reportedly said, “The Jews are responsible for all the wars in the world” and other things about them that I care not to mention. And oh yes ~ all this comes on the heels of Gibson’s newest project on…The Holocaust!

gibson.jpg

There have been those who have come to Gibson’s defense saying that he was intoxicated and that it was the alcohol which was in control…you can’t blame Mel for what he’s done – it was the grog that made him speed and say the things he did about Israel…Well, this is what I want to ramble on about!!!

First of all, I am fully persuaded that the only one to take the blame for all this is Mel Gibson. If what we read and hear about this incident is true (and he’s already come out with a statement apologizing for his errors), then Gibson is wrong. But isn’t this just another “good” example of what intoxicating drink WILL do?

I grew up a Catholic ~ Mel Gibson is a Catholic ~ I know of the Catholic “testimony” in my area ~ Catholics see nothing wrong with drinking alcohol. And it’s not just the Catholics that can’t put “two-n-two” together…alcohol & sin…there are certain “evangelicals” in my area that have no problem with “social drinking”, just as long as you don’t get drunk…What’s that???

Point #1: How can a person determine the point just before he “becomes tipsy” or drunk…and if he does determine it…isn’t he really already drunk??? Alcohol is a mind-altering substance (Just ask Mel) and as soon as it is ingested, it goes to work altering the mind!

Point #2: Here’s a rhetorical question: Why don’t people just believe and give in to what the Bible says?

Prov 20:1, “Wine is a mocker, strong drink is raging: and whosoever is deceived thereby is not wise.”

Hab 2:15, “Woe unto him that giveth his neighbour drink, that puttest thy bottle to him, and makest him drunken also, that thou mayest look on their nakedness!”

…And how about the favorite text of those who say that it’s okay to have a drink…the “Wine in Moderation” crowd…

Eph 5:18, “And be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit”. They say, “See, God allows us to drink, but just as long as it isn’t in excess…” *Nice try, but you’ve missed it!

What must be seen first in Eph 5:18 is that there is an “opposite comparison” made in the text = drunk with wine vs filled with the Spirit. In this opposite comparison we have to see that one way is desired and the other way is despised. What Paul is saying (and I don’t think anyone can disagree logically) is not to let alcohol control you…but be controlled by (i.e. – filled by) the Holy Spirit.

NOW SOME MAY SAY: “We know drunkenness is wrong, but this verse says that a person can drink as long as they don’t get drunk”…does it actually say that?

–We know that: vs18 positively forbids becoming intoxicated…that one way is desired and the other way is despised.

*So if we know that alcohol leads to intoxication – which is strictly forbidden in Scripture (vs18) – and we know that being drunk on alcohol is not God’s desired way for us, but it’s despised by God…can this verse actually allow us to partake of something that will lead us into that which is forbidden in Scripture and despised by God?

IT ALL COMES DOWN TO THIS: Is the phrase wherein is excess modifying or describing “be not drunk” or is it modifying or describing “wine”?

–If you try to hold to drinking in moderation you will say: Being drunk means being in excess of alcohol…but is that what vs18 is saying?

NO! Verse 18 is telling us that “wine is excess” – “And be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess“. The phrase “wherein is excess” is describing the word “wine”.

The word Excess comes from the Gr. word asotia, and it means “unsavedness or an abandonment of moral principle; riotous”. Other places this word is used in the NT:

Luke 15:13, “And not many days after the younger son gathered all together, and took his journey into a far country, and their wasted his substance with riotous living.”

Titus 1:6, “If any be blameless, the husband of one wife, having faithful children not accused of riot or unruly.”

1 Pet 4:4, “Wherein they think it strange that ye run not with them to the same excess of riot, speaking evil of you”

Eph 5:18 is telling us “do not drink alcoholic, fermented wine…at all”! Wine is the excess…why would this verse say “Be not (in excess) with wine, wherein is excess”doesn’t make sense…because the phrase “wherein is excess” is describing alcoholic, fermented “wine”.

Mel Gibson is a “good” example of wine being excess. It produced in him an “abandonment of moral principle and riotousness…unsavedness” (and as I am a former Catholic, I can’t believe Gibson’s saved). It brought him under it’s control…and alcohol can bring anyone under it’s control…instead of being filled with the Spirit (opposite comparison).

How can we defend the moderate, social, recreational use of fermented, alcoholic drink? Not with Scripture we can’t…and not with alcohol-related statistics in our country. I like what Abraham Lincoln said, “Liquor has many defenders, but no defense“.

Way to go, Mel…

2 Responses to “Mel Gibson is a Good Example”

  1. Jill said

    I just have a question. Should the musings of a believing pastor be bashing unbelievers? I respect your stance on alcohol. However, aside from the alcohol issue, I was offended by your blatant nasty attitude toward an unbeliever. I am of the opinion that without the grace of God, we would all be in that position. I guess that I was raised to speak kindly of others whether I agree with their choices or not.

  2. Bro. Szekely said

    Jill…great question!

    I’m sorry that you were offended…but I must ask you: what offended you? I know you said that I had a “blatant nasty attitude toward an unbeliever”, but can you tell me in what way? For example, was it “what I said” or “how you think” I said it? I mean…what did I say that came across as a “blatant nasty attitude” toward a man caught in sin…which was only the springboard into what I really wanted to muse upon?

    I truly am sorry that you were offended, Jill…that’s not my intention, of course. If you read this as a personal attack on Mel Gibson, it really isn’t. I want him to be born-again and I love him because Jesus loves him. But Mel is wrong…no two ways about it.

    You see Jill, I respect and understand what you say…that you were raised to speak kindly of others whether I agree with their choices or not…but Mel Gibson’s choice was a sinful one…and he is obviously well-known and influential with some believers…so should it be swept under the rug? “What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound?” (Rom 6:1) God forbid.

    Jill, I believe that when a person is truly repentant of his sin and sincerely asks for forgiveness, we should do what our Lord did = “Forgive and forget”. But our Lord also called out sin AND He named particular men with their particular sins…shouldn’t we practice that as well? I understand that you and I are not “holier than thou”…if it wasn’t for the Grace of God, I’d split Hell wide open.

    I percieve a problem today, Jill, is that we are afraid to make or see sin as personal. If a soul sees not himself as lost because of his sin, why would that soul ever desire to be saved? Gal 3:24, “Wherefore the law was our schoolmaster to bring us unto Christ, that we might be justified by faith”; Rom 7:7, “I had not known sin, but by the law”; etc.

    Jill, thank you for your response, and I’m looking forward to hearing back from you…until then…Lord bless!

Leave a Reply

 
